Cogitating

image

I love these goats. February, Myrtle and Minty were born, and I had my very first birth experience! Stormy went into labor in the afternoon, delivering three kids! Sadly, the first kid was stillborn. Myrtle came next, and I really thought Stormy was done! Then we realized that she was going to have a third kid!  It was such a time of joy…even though Minty came breech and I had to assist Stormy.

Minty was so little! She was perky and happy, bouncing all over the pasture, as only a baby goat can. Her black and white coat stood out from the rest of the herd, she looked nothing like her blonde sister! I loved all of the kids, but Minty was really special to me. She would jump up on my lap and snuggle, like none of the other kids would.

She suddenly got really weak, so I brought her in the house. She stayed in for about a week. Whenever I left the room, she would call for me to come back. Yesterday morning, she started having seizures, so we took her to the vet. They put her down, she was too little to survive. I miss my little girl!

This is why I have no story, or writing related things to share.

It's got Myrtle and Minty!

It’s got Myrtle and Minty!

I realize that, as of now, I have posted nothing whatoever pertaining to the main topic of this blog. But, I have posted pictures of cute baby goats! That should count for something, right?

Myrtle and Dilly

Myrtle and Dilly

(Erg. Sorry about the weird picture! Posting from the IPad…)

Lest you think I’m all doom and gloom, I am working on a short story for y’all! Hopefully it will be done next week. I am not sure what exactly it will be, but I have a few ideas.

Fare you well, wherever you fare!

~Hope

Leave a Reply

