In Which Adrian and Dillon Disagree

Howdy Y’all!

I hope this lovely morning finds you all well! Here is the next installment of the spy/agent story begun last Friday. Enjoy!

IMG_2802

I just had to scroll through pictures for a full hour trying to find a picture of Hope and I (the authors of this story) that was NOT a selfie. Ouch. That’s bad. Moving on.

Chapter Two

Adrian leaned over Dillon’s shoulder his brow furrowed, trying to make something of the jumbled series of letters and numbers. They had been poring over the hastily scribbled note for half an hour now and neither of them had any clue what to do with it. It probably would have helped if they were able to agree on what exactly this mess was.

“I still think it’s a code,” Adrian insisted. Even he was surprised that his patience had stretched this far.

“I know it’s not.”

Adrian straitened and folded his arms with a sarcastic half-smile.

“Well, if it’s not a code, what is it?”

You could define Dillon by the dictionary definition of “proud”: having, proceeding from, or showing a high opinion of one’s own dignity, importance, or superiority. His expression now could prove it.

“I don’t know yet, but it’s not a code.”

“What else could it be?”

Dillon looked over his shoulder at Adrian with an annoyed sigh.

“I don’t know for sure. One thing I am positive about is that I can’t possibly think with you around! Go uh, read. Or something.”

He turned back to the scribble adorned sticky note with a snort of disgust. Adrian resumed his position over Dillon’s shoulder.

“I still think it’s a code.”

“I know it’s not.”

“What is it then?”

“I’m not sure yet. It’s not a code.”

“What else could it be?”

“I don’t know yet. Don’t bother me. I’m busy being brilliant.”

After a moment of silence,

“I still think it’s a code.”

“Adrian! Go away, I need you gone! You’re hurting my brain.”

“I’m not leaving. I need to catch your mistakes.”

Dillon gave a derisive snort.

“Mistakes! I don’t make those, thankyouverymuch!”

Dillon raged on, but Adrian ignored him. Puzzled, he stared at the dizzying array of symbols, waiting for something to jump out at him.

Wait. I forgot. That only happens in the movies. I need real, tangible facts. Hold on… maybe it’s not just in the movies. I do believe…yes! Eureka! 4 letters after 4, 12 letters after 12!

Hey, Dillon!”

“You are interrupting me again.”

“Look at this.”

Adrian showed him the correspondence between the numbers and letters.

“That doesn’t say anything! It says 4djns12sjdnfhsiamst. still makes no sense. Also, what about the 00?”

“It was just an idea, no need to jump on me like that.”

Dillon rolled his eyes in annoyance.

“Stop having ideas and go make me some co-” in his excitement he forgot to close his mouth. “Boss, you’ve got a chance, after all!”

Adrian yawned. Maybe coffee was a good idea.

“What is it this time?”

“Fourth letter s,” Dillon was speaking slowly and as he wrote the letters on some scrap paper. “Twelfth letter t, first letter a 00, eighth letter t, second letter u, fouth letter e! It spells S-T-A-0-0-T-U-E!”

“What does that say?”

“I don’t know, but it must be important! Another code maybe?”

“Well, genius, if you take out the 00 it spells statue.”

“It can’t be that simple, it must be a coincidence. It’s got to be more complicated that that!”

“Whatever. What does the next one say?”

“3-L-I-B-E-R-T-Y”

“Quit avoiding it Dillon, I got this one. It means the Statue of Liberty!”

“I was just about to say that! Are you coming or what?”

Dillon scooped up his gear and strode off.

“Where are you going?”

“Liberty Island, New York.”

Thanks for reading! Stop by again next Friday to hear what happens next!

Blessings,

Sarah Leana

© Sarah and Hope Arendse 2015

Leave a Reply

