A Party of Special Magnificence

 

Hello y’all!! I’m back at last. 🙂 We have decided to link up with a special, week-long Tolkien party. If you click on the picture above, it should lead you to the blog host of this event.  Today I’ll be answering a list of questions about Tolkien’s most famous work: The Lord of The Ring Series. Spoilers will be rampant and unchecked; you have been warned. 

1. What draws you to Tolkien’s stories? (The characters, the quests, the themes, the worlds, etc.)  The characters make Middle Earth come alive for me.                                 2. What was the first Middle Earth book you read and/or movie you saw? What did you think of it? I was first introduced to the books when my daddy read the entire series (starting with the Hobbit) to us kids. I loved it and I remember bawling when Frodo supposedly died at the end of The Two Towers. 3. Name three of your favorite characters and tell us why you like them. Frodo in the book, not the movie. Because Frodo is a wimp in the movies :). I love his heroism and sacrifice. And his friendship with Sam. And kindness/pity for Gollum. And…I could go on all day. Aragorn. His wisdom  and his love for his people are amazing (but the book character is way better).  Theoden/Boromir. I like heroic deaths 😉 *ducks incoming tomatoes for not mentioning Sam*.                                                     4. Are there any secondary characters you think deserve more attention? Sam. And Glorfindel (why didn’t they include him in the movies?!!) and Gandalf, and everybody else.                                              5. What Middle Earth character do you relate to the most? Hmm. I would have to say Aragorn or Gandalf. Both have a protective counselor role that I identify with. On second thoughts, I am more like Treebeard. My “wisdom” is often informative but long winded and I like forests. Plus, to my younger siblings I am “really old.” 6. If you could ask Professor Tolkien one Middle Earth-related question, what would you like to ask him?Who is your favorite character from your stories, and why?           7. Are there any pieces of Middle Earth merchandise you would particularly like to own, but don’t? Yes. I want a Middle Earth map  muchly.                                                                 8. What battle would you absolutely not want to be part of? The Battle in front of the Black Gate. Because that was essentially a doomed decoy from the start.                                   9. Would you rather eat a meal at the Rivendell or Bag End? Rivendell.                                                                       10. List up to ten of your favorite lines/quotes from the books or movies. Since this post is getting long I’ll limit myself to four. 🙂

“Confusticate and bebother these dwarves.”~Bilbo Baggins

“I made a promise, Mr. Frodo, a promise. Don’t you leave him Samwise Gamgee. And don’t mean to.”~Sam

  
  

Farewell for now!                                     ~Patricia Tully

6 thoughts on “A Party of Special Magnificence

Leave a Reply

